The Extraordinary Chapter General elected the Sovereign Council


The Extraordinary Chapter General, presided over by the Lieutenant of the Grand Master Fra’ John Dunlap and Cardinal Silvano Maria Tomasi, Special Delegate of the Pope, elected all the members of the Sovereign Council, who will remain in office for six years.

After electing the Grand Commander Fra’ Emmanuel Rousseau, Grand Chancellor Riccardo Paternò di Montecupo, Grand Hospitaller Fra’ Alessandro de Franciscis and the Receiver of the Common Treasure Fabrizio Colonna, the following were elected Councillors of the Sovereign Council: Fra’ João Augusto Esquivel Freire de Andrade, Fra’ Roberto Viazzo, Fra’ John Eidinow, Fra’ Mathieu Dupont, Fra’ Richard J. Wolff, Francis Joseph McCarthy, Michael Grace, Clemente Riva Sanseverino, Josef Blotz.

Source and credits:

The Sovereign Military Order of Malta - Singapore Association

16 Raffles Quay, #41-07 Hong Leong Building, Singapore 048581 Email: